May 11, 2021 Melissa Lamar

This item was published more than 1 year ago. For a current list of press releases, visit News Archives .

Those honored reside in Avon, Barkhamsted, Bloomfield, Bristol, Brookfield, Canton, Collinsville, East Hartford, East Windsor, Farmington, Granby, Hartford, Harwinton, Middletown, New Britain, New Hartford, Plainville, Plantsville, Rocky Hill, Simsbury, South Glastonbury, Southington, Stamford, Terryville, Torrington, Unionville, Waterbury, West Hartford, & Wolcott.  

The Alpha Iota Alpha Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society (PTK) at Tunxis Community College in Farmington announced the names of 99 students who accepted membership in the honor society. They were formally recognized on May 5 at two virtual induction ceremonies hosted by the college.  

Phi Theta Kappa is recognized by the American Association of Community Colleges as the official honor society of two-year colleges. To achieve eligibility for PTK, a student must complete at least 12 hours of associate degree course work and earn a grade point average (GPA) of 3.5 or higher. Throughout their enrollment, they must maintain high academic standing, generally a 3.0 GPA. About 130,000 students are inducted into Phi Theta Kappa each year.

The Alpha Iota Alpha Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at Tunxis provides opportunities for more than 300 members in leadership, community service, scholarly fellowship and academic excellence. The chapter was recognized this spring with a REACH Reward for membership development, given to chapters that achieve or exceed a 15 percent membership acceptance rate during the year. Each semester, student members participate in service and research projects to help their college and communities, and are eligible to apply for over $90 million in scholarships reserved exclusively for PTK members.

Established in 1918, Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education, with more than three million members and 1,300 chapters in each of the 50 states, U.S. territories, British Virgin Islands, Canada, Germany, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, United Arab Emirates and Palau.

Located in Farmington, Tunxis Community College offers more than 70 associate degrees and certificates, providing critical thinking and problem-solving skills that prepare students for transfer to bachelor’s degree programs and employment in areas with industry need.

The new members of PTK, listed by towns of residence, are:


Andrew LeDuc

Sunjoo Shin


Austin Marek

Abigail Warren


Abigail Facey


Katia Abdelmoula

Isaiah Bernazal

Madelyn Bourassa

Alexandria Briere

Ilyzia Cardona

Cecilia Dallaire

Christian Deleon

Zinah Erzaij

Isaiah Fillian

Katelyn Gingery

Jennifer Gravelle

Jamie Haines

Melanie Hernandez

Vanessa Holmes

Cheryl Keddy

Olivia Mike

Ariana Ortiz

Lindsay Perrone

Maya Phairoj

Robert Pike

Ashley Portes

Anthony Reyes

Sarah Richardson

Cassandra Sanchez

Courtnie Sanchez

Samantha Seger

Shyann Swanson

Noah Taber

Jennifer Tarallo

Jade Vigue

Tiffany Virgo

Stephanie Vita


Karalyn Mancini


William Hahn

Grace Mates


Rheannon Smyth

East Hartford 

Zolei Burgos

East Windsor 

Elvis Hysaj


Amanda Buckley

Tony Hsieh

Tuhan Nguyen

Jamie Whiteclaw


Tram Briggs


Elijah Lombardi


Shannon Frey

Aidan Reynolds


Kristina Metolli

New Britain 

Anas Abdulai

Juan Brito Veras

Jordan Daniels

Stephanie DeMarco

Keisuan Garcia

Jessica Guzman

Oussama Larhlimi

Bethany Paradis

Nicole Pleckaitis

Renan Puglia

Mario Salza

Anggriyani Soebroto

New Hartford 

Nathaniel Sloman


Joanna Domitrz

Wyatt Rita

Angelica Rosario

Alexander Santos

Samantha Smith

Jessica Vaughn


Michael Williamson

Rocky Hill 

Danielle Rinick


Brandon Gaucher

Michael Krinsky

Andre Lamer

Alayna Tawney

South Glastonbury 

Tiffany Citroen


Carissa Cayer

Darian Dube

Allyson Frazier

Denisa Halilaj

Emily Hanson

Kristen Longley

Sharon Maher

Hannah Platt

Jenna Sheehan

Estefany Solis


Silvia Antonioli


Jasmine Christiano


Rhianna Reed

Vladimirs Seglins

Nhan Tran


Megan Incillo


Lusanny Gomez

West Hartford 

Corey Jansing

Ingrid Rubeor


Kelsey Gillotti

Marissa Swanson