June 4, 2018 Melissa Lamar

This item was published more than 1 year ago. For a current list of press releases, visit News Archives .

The Alpha Iota Alpha Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at Tunxis Community College in Farmington announced the names of over 100 students who accepted membership in the honor society. They were formally recognized this spring at an induction ceremony.

Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) is recognized by the American Association of Community Colleges as the official honor fraternity of two-year colleges. To achieve eligibility for PTK, a student must complete at least 12 hours of associate degree course work and earn a grade point average (GPA) of 3.5 or higher. Throughout their enrollment, they must maintain high academic standing, generally a 3.0 GPA. About 130,000 students are inducted into Phi Theta Kappa each year.

The Alpha Iota Alpha Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at Tunxis provides opportunities for over 300 members in leadership, community service, scholarly fellowship and academic excellence. Each semester, student members participate in service and research projects to help their college and communities, and are eligible to apply for over $90 million in scholarships reserved exclusively for PTK members.

Established in 1918, Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education, with more than three million members and 1,300 chapters in each of the 50 states, U.S. territories, British Virgin Islands, Canada, Germany, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, United Arab Emirates and Palau.

Located in Farmington, Tunxis Community College offers over 60 associate degrees and certificates, providing critical thinking and problem-solving skills that prepare students for transfer to bachelor’s degree programs and employment in areas with industry need.

The new members of PTK, listed by towns of residence, are:


Ryan Appold

Nida Shaikh


Alexander Biamonte


Mary Barrett

Lorraine Papacoda


Chelsea Almori

Lisa Calderoni

Ryan Damboise

Giovanni Diaz

Nathan Duffy

Jon Girard

Michele Hernandez

Jessica Horvath

Theresa Little

Alyssa Marin

Shannon Michelson

Afkar Mubarek

Christian Nugra

Peter O’Dell

Kelsea Paradis

Arielle Pease

Katarzyna Plewa

Melanie Rahuba

Taylor Rehmer

Aubrey Strong

Joseph Taillon

Catherine Thai

Ashley Torvinen

Sara Triplett

Yvonne Zettervall


Jillian Bogli

Christian Drehmann


Kendra Jacques

Lynzee Mills


Jacob Norton


Katerina Mekarnom


Hannah Naumec


Nathaniel Godfrey

Migdalia Merriman


Luis Miguel Ayala


Julia Sheahan


Nina Mefford

New Britain

Stephen Brier-Gagliardi

Amy Bryda

Linda Connors

Gina Dinguis

Brandi Durity

Leniel Flores

Zuzanna Jablonska

Chil Liu

Antonio Marti

Susan McCarthy

Karah Mcnamara

Laura Ortegon

Martha Padilla

Darae Park

Jayadevi Singh

Marcin Stopyra

Alexys Thomas

Samantha Traunfeld

Karina Ukhnitska


Kayla Clark


Eric Dougherty

Sage Maier

Shannon O’Connor

Nicholas Petrucci

Ania Scott

Rachel Warner


Derek Hinton


Rohit Chonk

Andrew Hecht

Ariana Lyons Chilton


Samantha-Jo Czarnecki

Kyle Deangelo

Patrycja Duliban

Vraja Gandhi

Rajvee Ramji

Matthew Touma

Penny Yovina


Chelsea Davis


Grayce Campbell

Amy Chamberlin

Josh Norton

Stacey Smith


Danielle Duffy


Goulsina Becker

Darlene Brown

Aroya Jordan


Sarah Collins

Carole Langlais

Latoya Nixon


Margaret Bezrudczyk

Angelica Soto

West Hartford

Stephanie Brown-Bieringer

Brittany Daley

Elizabeth Fabbri

Benjamin Mione

Paxton Moynihan

Jeremiah Oluwasina

Coleen Steele


Adam Stanko


Emily Bigger

Margaret Bigger